DCACI: Implementing Cisco Application Centric Infrastructure

The Implementing Cisco Application Centric Infrastructure (DCACI) training introduces you to the implementation and management of the Cisco Nexus 9000 Series Switches in Cisco Application Centric Infrastructure (ACI) mode. The 5-day lab-intensive training covers the key components and procedures you need to know to understand, configure, and manage Cisco Nexus 9000 Series Switches in ACI mode, how to connect the Cisco ACI fabric to external networks and services, and fundamentals of Virtual Machine Manager (VMM) integration.

This training earns you 40 Continuing Education (CE) credits toward recertification.

How you will benefit

After completing this course, you should be able to:

  • Describe Cisco ACI Fabric Infrastructure and basic Cisco ACI concepts
  • Describe Cisco ACI policy model logical constructs
  • Describe Cisco ACI basic packet forwarding
  • Describe external network connectivity
  • Describe VMM Integration
  • Describe Layer 4 to Layer 7 integrations
  • Explain Cisco ACI management features


The audience for this course is individuals who need to understand how to configure and manage a data center network environment with the Cisco Nexus 9000 Switch operating in ACI Mode.

Typical roles: Network Designer, Network Administrator, Network Engineer, Systems Engineer, Data Center Engineer, Consulting Systems Engineer, Technical Solutions Architect, Cisco Integrators/Partners, Field Engineer, Server Administrator, Network Manager, Storage Administrator, Cisco integrators and partners.


To fully benefit from this course, you should have the following knowledge and skills:

  • Understanding of networking protocols, routing, and switching
  • Familiarity with Cisco Ethernet switching products
  • Understanding of Cisco data center architecture
  • Familiarity with virtualization fundamentals

These are the recommended Cisco courses that will help you meet these prerequisites:

Course outline


Introducing Cisco ACI Fabric Infrastructure and Basic Concepts
What Is Cisco ACI?
Cisco ACI Topology and Hardware
Cisco ACI Object Model
Faults, Event Record, and Audit Log
Cisco ACI Fabric Discovery
Cisco ACI Access Policies

Describing Cisco ACI Policy Model Logical Constructs
Cisco ACI Logical Constructs
Virtual Routing and Forwarding
Bridge Domain
Endpoint Group
Application Profile
Tenant Components Review
Adding Bare-Metal Servers to Endpoint Groups

Describing Cisco ACI Basic Packet Forwarding
Endpoint Learning
Basic Bridge Domain Configuration Knob

Introducing External Network Connectivity
Cisco ACI External Connectivity Options
External Layer 2 Network Connectivity
External Layer 3 Network Connectivity

Introducing VMM Integration
VMware vCenter VDS Integration
Resolution Immediacy in VMM
Alternative VMM Integrations

Describing Layer 4 to Layer 7 Integrations
Service Appliance Insertion Without ACI L4-L7 Service Graph
Service Appliance Insertion via ACI L4-L7 Service Graph
Service Graph Configuration Workflow
Service Graph PBR Introduction

Explaining Cisco ACI Management
Out-of-Band Management
In-Band Management
Simple Network Management Protocol
Configuration Backup
Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting
Role-Based Access Control
Cisco ACI Upgrade
Collect Tech Support

Lab Outline

  • Validate Fabric Discovery
  • Configure Network Time Protocol (NTP)
  • Create Access Policies and Virtual Port Channel (vPC)
  • Enable Layer 2 Connectivity in the Same Endpoint Group (EPG)
  • Enable Inter-EPG Layer 2 Connectivity
  • Enable Inter-EPG Layer 3 Connectivity
  • Compare Traffic Forwarding Methods in a Bridge Domain
  • Configure External Layer 2 (L2Out) Connection
  • Configure External Layer 3 (L3Out) Connection
  • Integrate Application Policy Infrastructure Controller (APIC) with VMware vCenter Using VMware Distributed Virtual Switch (DVS)


This course helps you prepare to take the exam 300-620 DCACI: Implementing Cisco Application Centric Infrastructure, which leads to CCNP Data Center and Cisco Certified Specialist – Data Center ACI Implementation certifications.

What to expect in the exam

The 300-620 DCACI exam certifies your knowledge of Cisco switches in ACI mode including configuration, implementation, and management. The exam will be available beginning February 24, 2020.

After you pass 300-620 DCACI:

  • You earn the Cisco Certified Specialist – Data Center ACI Implementation certification.
  • You will have satisfied the concentration exam requirement for new CCNP Data Center certification.
  • To complete CCNP Data Center, you also need to pass the Implementing and Operating Cisco Data Center Core Technologies (350-601 DCCOR) exam or its equivalent.

Other relevant courses

30. September
5 days
Classroom Virtual On Demand
2. September
5 days
Classroom Virtual On Demand Guaranteed to run
29. July
5 days
Classroom Virtual On Demand Guaranteed to run