Certified Data Management Professional (CDMP)

A popular statement is: data is the new oil. We believe that “water” is a better metaphor than oil: water is crucial for humans to survive and thrive, and so is data. Data management is the discipline concerned with managing data as an asset: realizing enough grip on data to enable value creation with data.

The Data Management Association (DAMA) is, worldwide, the largest professional organization in the field of data management. The Data Management Body of Knowledge (DMBOK) is their flagship publication. It is the industry reference model to our field. DMBOK is structured in 11 functional areas. Each of these areas is described extensively. Therefore, DMBOK can be seen as an effective best practices document for professionals in the field of data management.

The certified data management program (CDMP) is aimed at certification for professionals in the field of data management. The basis for this certification is, of course, the 11 areas of DMBOK as well as the interplay between them. This helps to structure the conversation about data and data management, which greatly improves its effectiveness in organizations.


  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of TOGAF 9
  • Professionals who are working in roles associated with an architecture project such as those responsible for planning, execution, development, delivery, and operation
  • Architects who are looking for a first introduction to TOGAF 9
  • Architects who want to achieve Level 1 certification


There are no formal prerequisites; it is recommended that participants have experience in the IT domain. 

Course outline:

DMBOK offers an extensive, theoretical framework for data management. We have published a companion book to make the framework more practical. This book summarizes the theory – interlaced with interviews of experts – as well as covers practical guidance to help organizations improve their data management ractices.



  • Individuals certified at this level will have demonstrated their understanding of:

    1. The basic concepts of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF
    2. The core concepts of TOGAF 9
    3. The key terminology of TOGAF 9
    4. The ADM cycle and the objectives of each phase, and how to adapt and scope the ADM
    5. The concept of the Enterprise Continuum; its purpose and constituent parts
    6. How each of the ADM phases contributes to the success of enterprise architecture
    7. The ADM guidelines and techniques
    8. How Architecture Governance contributes to the Architecture Development Cycle
    9. The concepts of views and viewpoints and their role in communicating with stakeholders
    10. The concept of building blocks
    11. The key deliverables of the ADM cycle
    12. The TOGAF reference models
    13. The TOGAF certification program


  • TOGAF® 9 Part 1 Exam

    • Open Book: No
    • Exam type: Multiple-choice
    • Number of questions: 40
    • Pass score: 55% (22 out of 40 questions)
    • Time limit: 60 minutes - Additional time may be provided for people taking an English language exam for whom English is not their first language.
    • Retake policy: If you fail the test you must wait one month before another attempt


    The exam is included in the training fee. When you have completed the course, contact and request your free exam voucher which can be used at any Pearson Vue test center. Glasspaper facilities this exam in Oslo, Trondheim, Stavanger and Bergen.

    Please note that your voucher is valid for 12 months of your course start.